MVHS Faculty Bookclub

My colleague and friend Chris and I recently initiated a staff book club to mixed reviews of our fellow teachers. In the end, what spurred the birth of this meeting was a presentation by Kelly Gallagher, author of Reading Reasons, at a class we took through our school district over the summer. The idea had been resting in the back of my mind for several years, however, waiting for the right moment to arrive. When I was in college at Malone, I had several favorite female professors who met regularly for book discussions and meals. The idea sat well with me; all I needed was another book enthusiast to join me. I was, therefore, quite excited by the opportunity to do this at my current school with interested colleagues.

For our first meeting in January, we read The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri (I’ll post a review of this book soon). The discussion was wonderful—we talked about the author’s style and decisions, about the characters and how we felt about them, about connections to our own lives, even about how we feel about the upcoming movie. In the middle of conversation, I realized that I have never discussed literature this candidly and with this kind of focus with adults. I ask my students to do this daily, yet I myself am not in the practice. I believe this group will be a formative part of my life for the duration.

For our February meeting, we will be discussing The Atonement by Ian McEwan. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

