Happy Birthday, Dad!

February 7th is my dad’s 53rd birthday. My dad fills the role of Hero in my life in many ways, and I began last week working on a piece about why that is the case. I haven’t yet finished it–I may never, simply because it is important to me. But I did want to post a happy birthday message for him anyway.

For today, a list of the greatness of Dad:

  • He knows every quality children’s song written in the past quarter century.
  • He is one of the best bakers I know. (the other bests, being, of course, all in the family)
  • He sets everything in his life aside for his children, anytime at all.
  • He did not kill me when I wrecked his car.
  • Or when I wrecked mom’s car.
  • He has always encouraged me in my passions and do what he could to support them.
  • He is a great intellect.
  • He is funny. And I always know when he is starting a joke.
  • So anyway…
  • He works hard to live out his faith.
  • He’s a great photographer and woodworker.
  • He works hard.
  • From the moment he wakes up, all week long (including 7 a.m. Saturdays)
  • He would be a great mayor (just ask my grandma).
  • He’s fast on a bike.
  • He loves our National Parks and taught me to love them.
3 Comments »

  1. I am trying to think of which one is my favorite here:
    -He knows every quality children’s song written in the past quarter century.
    -He did not kill me when I wrecked his car.
    -Or when I wrecked mom’s car.
    -So anyway…

  2. […] see an even longer list of why Craig rocks read Emily’s post about it here (oh, btw she has a new blog). Happy birthday […]

  3. Craig Miller said

    Emily,
    What a beautiful birthday card. Thanks. I pray that you and Wess will be heros to your children.
    love, Dad

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

